Robert A Howard has been composing for more than two decades, and regularly accepts commissions from ensembles and orchestras across the UK. As well as being heard in the UK, Robert’s compositions have been performed as far afield as Denmark, Colombia, USA and Australia.

If you would like to commission a piece by Rob, or perform one of his compositions, please get in touch via the Contact page.

List of Compositions (see chronological list instead)

Click any link for score excerpts, recordings & more information

Orchestral Works – click here for score samples & recordings
 (2015), for South Liverpool Orchestra (Liverpool Hope University) and the 11th Prescot Festival
Festival Suite
 (2006-7) – in four movements for the Third Prescot Festival and Association of British Youth Orchestras, for Knowsley Youth Orchestra
Festive Fanfare (2005) – for the First Prescot Festival of Music & the Arts and Phoenix Concert Orchestra
Wesleyan Overture (2004) – for Knowsley Youth Orchestra
Like Clockwork (2003) – commissioned by Knowsley Youth Orchestra for Prescot town
The Lantern Tower (2001-2) – for Kingston Chamber Orchestra, after John Piper
Promenade (2000) – SPNM-shortlisted. For the Goldsmiths Sinfonia, after Anthony Caro
The Island (1999) – SPNM-shortlisted. For the Northern Sinfonia, performed by various
In Memoriam B.H. (1997) – for the Birmingham University Chamber Orchestra, for Bob Howard
Archforms (1996) – for Wirral Youth Orchestra
Procession (1995) – for Wirral Youth Orchestra

Flexibly Scored Works (all for COMA ensembles, all in 4 parts unless otherwise stated) – click here for score samples & recordings

Journey (2011) – for COMA Manchester and the Seventh Annual Prescot Festival of Music and the Arts
Fantasy on Anna’s Theme (2006) – for the Second Prescot Festival, after John Corigliano
Three-Way Piece (2005) – after Henry Moore
Carousel (2004) – in up to 7 parts
Music to Hear (SATB, 2003) – a COMA collaboration with visual artist Kathy Hinde, celebrating the centenary of Hepworth’s birth and performed in Yorkshire Sculpture Park
Promenade III (2003) – in 15 parts, after Anthony Caro
Ghost (2002) – commissioned by COMA, after Ron Mueck
Lines on a Walk (2001) – in 15 parts, after Paul Klee
Promenade IV (2000) – published by Forum London Composers’ Group (ReSound Pack)

Choral & Vocal Works – click here for score samples & recordings

A Babe Is Born (2016) – version for SATB choir & piano or organ 
Jubilate Deo
 (2016) – version for solo voice & piano or organ
Ave verum corpus
(2016) – version for solo voice & piano or organ
Jubilate Deo (2016) – SATB & organ, for Prescot Parish Church Choir on the occason of the 12th Annual Prescot Festival of Music & the Arts
Ave verum corpus (2016) – SATB & piano or organ, for Prescot Parish Church Choir
A Babe Is Born
(2015) – for voice (soprano or tenor) & piano
and Nunc Dimittis (2011) – SATB, for Prescot Parish Church Choir and the Seventh Annual Prescot Festival of Music and the Arts
Music to Hear (2003) – SATB (with optional 4-part instrumental doublings), for COMA
A Babe Is Born (2002) – Christmas carol for choir and organ/piano or orchestra
Music, When Soft Voices Die (2001) – for Monica Acosta (mezzo-soprano and piano)
This Little Babe (1994) – Christmas carol for unison voices & piano/organ

Piano Works – click here for score samples & recordings

Reclining Figure (2015) – after Henry Moore
(2015) – for piano
Chagall Reflection II (elaboration) (2013)
Piano Piece
 (2009) – for Mensa
Niarbyl (2008)
Harmony (2007) – for David Kernick
Rocking (2006)
Rocking (sketch) (2006)
Chagall Reflection I (original) (2005)
Streight Lines (2004) – graphic score, for Rolf Hind
Addition I & II (2003) – for JT
In Memory (2002) – for Vee Margolis
Still (2001) – after Anthony Gormley, for Judith Serota
Chorale for St Andrews (2001) – for Stephen Gutman
Broadway Boogie-Woogie (2000) – after Piet Mondrian
Mother and Child (2000)
Promenade IVa (2000) – version for piano or organ
Six of One (1999) – in six short movements
Prelude to 1984 (1999) – after George Orwell
Mirror Image (1998) – in 3 movements: Recollections, Reflections, From A to Z

String Quartet – click here for score samples & recordings

The Stations of the Cross (2002-3) – for the Kreuzer Quartet, after Barnett Newman
Ghost (2002), Promenade IV (2000) & other flexibly scored pieces
String Quartet No. 1 (1999) – for Goldsmiths College New Music Ensemble
String Quartet Movement (1996)

Chamber & Solo Works – click here for score samples & recordings

Meditation (2013-14) – for solo organ, after Olivier Messiaen (La Trinite, Paris) & William Mathias (St Asaph Cathedral). For Tim Hall & the 10th Prescot Festival. Click here for more background.
Flautando (2012) – for solo flute
La Reproduction Interdite 
(2002) – for solo bassoon, after Rene Magritte
Lines on a Walk II (2001) – for flute, clarinet, piano, percussion, violin & cello, after Paul Klee
Dual Form (2000) – for clarinet & cello, after Barbara Hepworth
Promenade V (2000) – for oboist Paul Burnell
Family of Man (1999) – for flute, clarinet, piano, violin & cello (Gemini), after Barbara Hepworth
Pied Piper (1999) – commissioned by oboist Maria Thomas
Two Forms (1999) – for solo marimba, for Simon Limbrick
Prelude to Animal Farm (1998) – for Goldsmiths College New Music Ensemble, after Orwell
Chamber Concerto (1998) – for sinfonietta, for Birmingham University New Music Ensemble

Find Scores & Parts for Robert Howard’s Music

Robert’s music was previously published by Incalcando (Goldsmiths College), but are now available directly from the composer (see Contact). Many compositions, especially flexibly scored, are available through the COMA Music Library’s online catalogue. Please inform the composer of any performances.